Cancer…(10/8)

So my results are back from the CT scan. My gastro. calls me (and emails me) the results: a lesion on my right kidney mostly likely indicating kidney cancer. 2.5cm homogeneous mass on my right kidney (as well as there being an 11mm mass, but that one isn’t as concerning). I have a meeting with a urologist Tuesday to try and figure out what is going on. I don’t think I have come to terms yet with the words and concept. At this stage, though, it is “as far as we know” it is cancer. They aren’t 100% positive, but there really shouldn’t be a mass on/in your kidney. I will have more details Tuesday, but I am still scared.

Update: Saw my urologist today. He showed me the CT scans and, boy, does that tumor really show up. It was pretty cool. So the course of action is to get a biopsy at the end of this month just to make sure it is malignant. (90% chance that it is; but I am hoping that I am the other 10% – benign.) Once we confirm it is malignant, we will then cut it out and I will be good to go. 🙂

1 Response to “Cancer…(10/8)”


  1. 1 Linda October 10, 2011 at 12:10 pm

    Hi just found your blog from a google search for kidney cancer. I was diagnosed with a 2.6cm tumor in the middle of July, and had the tumor and part of my kidney removed on Sept. 9. My surgery was laparoscopic and done with a davinci robot. I found it very disconcerting that the whole process moved so quickly, and I didn’t really have time to deal with the emotions of it all. Now I am better and I feel like no one really wants to talk about it anymore.

    This site was so helpful to me: http://csn.cancer.org/forum/142

    On that site I found a couple of people who were having surgery on the same day, or almost the same day as me and we all supported each other. When a tumor that small is found on the kidney there should be no problem getting it all out, and the chance of a recurrence is slim to none.

    I never felt like I had cancer, and I don’t feel like a cancer survivor, but I suppose I am. Feel free to email me any time, I can share the questions that I asked my doctors and their answers, or just be a shoulder to lean on.


Leave a Reply

